Uncategorized

Y is for Yay!: #AtoZChallenge (one day late)

For about three years, I kept a running record of things I was escited about, or joyfully anticipating, or excited for, or grateful for, or just generally happy about.  The notebook was titled (because I have a morbid side) “Plum Blossoms,” from a quote in Sandman: Endless Nights:

“She decides to make a list of the things that make her happy. She writes ‘plum-blossom’ at the top of a piece of paper. Then she stares at the paper, unable to think of anything else. Eventually it begins to get dark.”

Neil Gaiman, The Sandman: Endless Nights

The hope was, of course, that I would be able to think of more than just that one thing, an I did – pages and pages of them.  When I was feeling especially down, I’d pull out that notebook read through the entries.  Some of them were upcoming plans – our trip to Florida in 2013, a good friends bridal shower, a big Burlesque show in Boston.  Some were intangible things – the smell of the air after it rains, late night walks illuminated only by streetlamps, impromptu sleepovers after over-indulgent night’s out.  Some were hilariously niche – a sale on strawberries at the grocery store, washing my sheets in a certain detergent, a particular episode of Doctor Who, a very specific Sherlock fanfic.

But they were all genuine, all real things – however big or small – that I had to look forward to, or be grateful for.  They were very real reminders that there were beautiful things in my life, in all forms.

I don’t know what happened to that notebook.  In the three moves since I last saw it, it could have disappeared at a number of different junctures, and I never started one back up.  I sometimes thing I should just go wholly digital, and keep tabs online, but where?  On my blog?  Who else but me would care?

But this entry is about “yay!”  About the joys in my life.  So, maybe not as a recurring feature, but for right now, I’m going to make my list.

Plum Blossoms

  • Warm, windy nights
  • Cookouts and game night’s at Raeanne’s
  • New Adventure Time episodes
  • Steven Universe Steven Bomb starting May 8th
  • Vacation in Conway, first week of August (us and five of our friends)
  • Steampunk Festival in a few weeks
  • Arts in the Park
  • Guardians of the Galaxy II next week
  • Boston Comic-Con in August
  • The sun not setting until, like, 8
  • Sketching out new jewelry designs, finally
  • Going to the library
  • Target Dollar Spot
  • Just got tickets to Phantom of the Opera in Sept.
  • “Fill-a-bag” sales at the thrift store

That’s today’s list.  Hopefully it holds me over until tomorrow.

Do you keep something like this (a gratitudes list, a Happiness list, etc)?  If so, where – online or in a notebook?  Do you share it with anyone?

Leave a Reply

