Blog Challenges 2017 · Personal

U is for Unexpected: #AtoZChallenge (one day late)

night-portrait-canon-flash-74472

I’m home on a sick day today, which, as I’ve discussed before, is kind of an emotionally tumultuous thing for me.  But I woke up this morning, turned over, and promptly thought I was going to throw up.  I literally stumbled out of bed and had to brace myself against the wall, I was so dizzy and nauseous.  I still got dressed and made it out to my mom’s house to drop my son off, but when I sat down to attempt a cup of coffee, my stomach roiled in such a way that I said, fuck it, I am not going to make it through work today.  So I’m at my mom’s house (I couldn’t face another car ride), and after some water, some food, and some coffee, I am still dizzy as shit (and running kind of hot and cold) but I can move around without feeling like spewing.  So, hey – yay for progress.

I figured I’d try to be productive, given that I now have seven-and-a-half hours free that I normally wouldn’t, so of course, I logged online (hey, I’m not at home, so it’s not like I can do my chores or anything).  When I logged on to WordPress today, I was greeted with a pleasant surprise – my blog had hit 100 followers.

That was… unexpected, to say the least.  I garnered a few followers during the NaNo Blog Hop back in November, but I think that capped out at 30 or so.  At some point in the intervening six months, another 70 people found me and decided I was worth keeping tabs on.

I’m not being falsely modest by saying I’m kind of shocked.  I’m not the greatest blogger – I don’t think I’m a bad writer, but I’m keeping this as a personal/creative journal, and everything I write is pretty self-indulgent.  Plus, I’m a terrible, horrible, no good, very bad commenter.   I’m bad at Approving comments, I’m bad at replying to them, and I’m awful at keeping up with and commenting on my blog roll, especially in the last few weeks when all my WordPress energy has been focused on proving to myself that I could actually complete this challenge.  I’m hoping I’ll be better when I’m no longer under the (admittedly self-imposed) pressure of daily blogging.  I’m just not cut out for it, honestly, but I want to see this challenge through to the end.

So, thank you to those of you who have seen me fit to Follow, who are actually interested in my not-so-interesting thoughts on rather mundane matters and my endless prattlings about the nonsense in my brain.  I promise that I am working on becoming a better and more engaged blogger, and I’m glad you’ve elected to stick around to hopefully see that change evolve.

I’m going to go lay back down and try not to feel like a garbage fire when I wake back up.  Cheers.

One thought on “U is for Unexpected: #AtoZChallenge (one day late)

Leave a Reply

